yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Miss Pam’s Pepperoni Bread

on January 25, 2011

Pepperoni, basil, garlic, cheese and bread…mmmmmm!  I am hungry just reading those words.  I made it for the first time this past weekend.  What a hit!  My husband loved it and my kids did too.

This recipe is from a very sweet lady I know named Pam.  She submitted this recipe in our church cookbook we sold locally to help raise money for our county’s annual Relay for Life Cancer Walk.  We sold over 300 cookbooks.  Pam is the whole reason our county and community even has a Relay for Life.  Her mother died of cancer, and she started out with an annual golf tournament to help raise money to find a cure for cancer.     Pam is a true servant, and I really respect that about her.  She sets a great example to follow.

Ingredients:

  • 1 log frozen dough
  • flour, for rolling out dough
  • 2 – 6 oz. pkgs. thin sliced pepperoni
  • 3 c. shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 4 eggs
  • 10 oz. block parmesan cheese, shredded
  • 1 Tbsp. basil
  • 1 Tbsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper

Thaw the dough and let rise.  Cut dougn into two halves making 2 loaves of pepperoni bread.  Roll the dough out as thin as possible, adding flour as needed.

In a medium bowl, beat the 4 eggs gently.  Add parmesan cheese and stir until well blended and the paste is thick.  Add basil, garlic powder and black pepper to the paste.  Divide paste in half and brush onto the dough.  Save a little extra for the top of the bread.  Spread pepperoni on top of the paste overlapping the pepperoni and covering up the dough.  Spread mozarella cheese onto each half of the bread over the layer of pepperoni.  Roll up the dough, pinching dough together to seal.  Place on a cookie sheet seam side down, tucking the ends under the bread.  Brush rest of the paste on top of the bread.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 25 minutes.  Cool a little before serving.  Dip into warm marinara sauce, or pizza/spaghetti sauce.  Enjoy!

The next time I make this recipe, I think I am going to use fresh basil and garlic…probably about 3-4 cloves, pressed.

Note: You may use more, or less, spices as needed. 

Miss Pam's Pepperoni Bread

One response to “Miss Pam’s Pepperoni Bread

  1. […] me to serve wings, and I am really not sure what else I will be making.  I might throw in some of Miss Pam’s Pepperoni Bread.  I am trying to put together a menu for the big […]

Leave a Reply

