yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Jen’s Light and Crispy Fried Chicken

on February 14, 2011

 

My fried chicken is a favorite around our house.  I admit I have experimented alot with fried chicken over the years, and think I have found a combination we really like.  This recipe is a little different than your other fried chicken recipes out there.  Quick, easy, sorta messy, but oh, so yummy.  Pinning down the exact measurements has been a challenge for me since I usually just throw spices into my flour, but I really wanted to get this recipe on my blog.  Afterall, it is one of my kids’ favorite! 

Ingredients:

  • 16 boneless, skinless chicken tenderloins, washed & blotted dry
  • 1 oz. packet Hidden Valley Ranch dry dressing mix
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 pinch white granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp. thyme
  • 1 tsp. ground cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 Tbsp. parsley flakes
  • 3 1/2 cups peanut oil (can use vegetable oil, too)

In a flat, shallow bowl, combine flour, ranch packet, garlic powder, salt, sugar, thyme, cayenne pepper, black pepper and parsley flakes.  Blend together with fork. Set aside.

Rinse chicken tenders and blot dry with paper towels. Set aside.

In another shallow dish, whisk together eggs to prepare egg bath. 

Arrange bowls in order from right to left: chicken, egg bath, and dry flour mixture.

In a skillet, pour in oil and heat to medium-high. 

While oil is heating, begin to dredge the chicken tenders.  First take a tender and roll it in the egg bath.  Remove and dredge in the flour mixture until well coated.  Place on a plate and finish the remaining tenders while the oil heats up.  To see if the oil is ready, drop a sprinkle of flour into the oil.  If it sizzles the oil is ready.  If the flour sinks to the bottom, the oil needs a little longer to heat.  Once the oil is ready, drop in the chicken tenders with a fork to avoid hot splatters.

Cook tenders for about 3 minutes before turning over.  Cover the skillet and cook for about 4 more minutes.  Repeat until chicken is done. 

I believe the keys to good fried chicken rely on several components: egg bath, using peanut oil, and the temperature of the oil when frying.  Using peanut oil makes for a light, crispy crust, and it can withstand high heat temperatures when frying.  Plus, I am not a big fan of greasy chicken. 

I assume these tenders would taste good dipped in sauces, but honestly we have never had to dip them in any sauce.  They are yummy right out of the skillet!  Hot and yummy.

The next time I fry this chicken, I might try doing a parmesan crusted chicken.  To achieve this, I will add freshly grated parmesan into the egg bath.  I could also throw in some finely chopped pecans into the flour mixture, too, for Parmesan-Pecan crusted Chicken Tenders.  Travmo would really like the parmesan!

Note: You can use boneless, skinless chicken breasts, but I suggest pounding the chicken so the breasts are the same width.  This makes it easier to cook by reducing the frying time, plus the meat is cooked more evenly. 

I think there is countless and endless ways to cook fried chicken.  Happy Frying!!!

Leave a Reply

