yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Strawberry-Covered Chocolate Cupcakes

on March 4, 2011

Chocolate has always been my #1 food weakness, along with McDonald’s french fries.  But as a child, nothing could keep me away from chocolate.  It just brings me so much joy.  Chocolate is pretty to look at even.  So anytime I see a recipe that involves chocolate I just have to pay it special attention.  Every day I have several blogs (see Blogroll page) I like to visit to see what creations these talented ladies come up with.  I found this recipe on the Pink Parsley blog. 

But now that I am older, my appetite for strawberries is becoming more and more advanced.  Sweet, yet tart.  Yum. Yum. Yum.  Strawberries are good in just about any dessert, or dish.   They are good plain, dipped in chocolate (see there is that chocolate again), or even sprinkled with sugar (or Splenda). 

These cupcakes happened to be the first thing I made with my new Kitchen Aid Artisan stand mixer I purchased a couple of weeks back.  I did not have an actual reason for making them, so I decided to make them for my Sunday school class at church.  Since we had some left over cupcakes after church, I drug them over to my niece’s birthday party, who just turned 1!  Happy Birthday, Mayci!

My Daddy loved these cakes – I can always count on Daddy, right?  Right!  He thoroughly enjoyed the cakes since they do include coffee in the cake recipe.  Daddy drinks straight, black coffee.  No cream. No sugar.  Straight black.  Personally, I am not a coffee drinker, so I wasn’t sure how the coffee would affect the outcome of the cake.  Usually when I see coffee in a recipe, I would just omit it.  Regardless of my doubt, I wanted to follow the directions to a tee.  I wanted my cupcakes to look like the ones on the blog. 

When I make these again, I don’t think I will use an entire cup of coffee.  It did make the batter very runny.  I was a little apprehensive about the batter baking into actual cake.  But they came out nicely.   See, I worried for no reason.  Now, if I make these for Daddy, I will be sure to use the entire cup of coffee since he loves that black coffee and these cupcakes. 

Another thing I would do differently would be to invest in some nice cake decorating tools.  Just this week I finally went to Wal-Mart and purchased a cupcake decorating set.  Although it was only $7.50 it included 4 tips and 8 bags.  I wish I had made this purchase before making the cupcakes.  My icing ability lacks true flare but with some practicing I think I can get it.  I did make some other cupcakes this week and used the new cupcake decorating set.  I was not all that pleased (plus I was rushed to get them done since it was Teen Week on Jeopardy) with my lack of decorating skills, but I will be ordering a different tip from Bake It Pretty before decorating cupcakes again.  And I think I will let my icing sit in the fridge for a quick spell before icing the little cakes.

Leave a Reply

