yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Apple Walnut Spinach Salad

on March 8, 2011

I made this recipe for the first time last night, and I was a little sad.  Sad I had not made it sooner!!!  I have been sitting on this recipe since January, and I thought it was the perfect time to give it a try.  Boy, I am so glad I did!  Y.U.M.!!!!!!  So, the next time you grill or serve Italian, don’t pass up this recipe!  Add it to your menu!  You will not be sorry. 

 Salad Ingredients:

Apple Walnut Spinach Salad

  • 1 pound baby spinach
  • ½ c. chopped walnuts
  • ¼ c. golden raisins
  • 1 Granny Smith apple, chopped

Dressing:

  • 1/3 c. oil
  • 1/3 c. apple cider vinegar
  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp. celery salt
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder

In a small mixing bowl, whisk together dressing ingredients until well-combined. 

Next, mix together the salad ingredients in a large mixing or serving bowl. 

Pour dressing over salad and serve.  You can also plate your salads and then drizzle the dressing on top of the salads.

Note: The original recipe calls for cashews instead of walnuts.  The only cashews I could find were in the big cans, so I opted to just purchase a small bag of chopped walnuts.  The walnuts tasted wonderful with the salad.

Thank you to Leanne C., a friend of the family, for sharing this recipe. 

Leave a Reply

