yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Vegetable, Herb Kinder”garden”

on March 9, 2011

Here I go again…starting something I have absolutley no idea about what I am doing.  Gardening.  For the past several years, I have wanted to start a garden out behind our house.  We live in town in a subdivision where the houses sit closely together, so in the past I never felt brave enough to tackle the challenge.  After several years of mulling it over in my brain, I think our backyard is a perfect place for a garden.  Our neighbor across the street has a nice garden, and I know we can do it too.  Besides, it will be fun!  Right? 

I have asked Daddy to help me with calculating the garden measurements utilizing the small area we have, as well as the garden as a whole.  I want not only vegetables, but also an herb garden.

I tell ya, just knowing I am gonna be eating something I grew in the ground with (lots of) God’s help, just excites me to my core!  I am so excited to start this garden.  Gardening ourselves will give us more money throughout the summer, as well as eating healthier!  Plus, we can get away from technology and the tv to work together as a family.  I hope that we can produce enough from the garden that some can be given away. 

In the vegetable garden, I plan to grow green beans, broccoli, green cabbage, lettuce, carrots, zucchini, yellow squash, onions, tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, corn, strawberries and blackberries.  In the herb garden, I would like to grow basil, Italian parsley, cilantro, mint, chives, thyme, oregano, and a few others. 

Martha Stewart has an excellent source of gardening tips and articles on her website on the subject of planning a garden from the get go.  I am sure I will be a frequent visitor to her website.  Use your public library to check out books on the subject, too.  I just checked out (well Travis checked it out for me) a book by Williams-Sonoma’s “Cooking from the Farmers’ Market”, and it breaks down every single vegetable and fruit you can think of, along with delicious recipes using the vegetables from your garden or a local farmers’ market.   

Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmers' Market

I have also taken the notion to check with the Farmers’ Almanac about the best time to plow and cultivate the soil, and the best time to plant. 

I plan on documenting this gardening challenge so I will be sure to share the experiences, tips, etc, on this blog.  That is , if I can grow anything!  I am excited and nervous all at the same time.  If all goes well with the garden, I hope to have my grandmother teach me how to can and make homemade blackberry jam! Mmmmm.

Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

