yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Baby Hot Browns

on March 11, 2011
Baby Hot Browns

Most people have never, ever heard of Hot Browns, but they are well known in Kentucky.  I can’t help but think of the Kentucky Derby when I make them.  This recipe is the “baby” version of the infamous Kentucky Hot Brown.  Do you like cheese sauce?  How about turkey, do you like turkey?  And I am sure you probably like bacon, am I right?  Well, if you like one or all of those things, you will surely enjoy these hot browns. 

This recipe is a new one I just received via e-mail from my mother-in-law, and I thought I would try it since Travis and I enjoy good hot browns.  Plus, they are quick and easy!  I do have another hot brown recipe, which I must admit Travis and I both like a littler better.  I plan to share that recipe with you closer to the racing of the Kentucky Derby in May.  But the next time I make this recipe, I will probably change a few things in the sauce by adding a little more milk and butter and decreasing the amount of cheese.  The sauce was a little too thick for me. 

Ingredients:
24 French Bread Slices (10 oz. loaf)
3 Tbsp. butter
3 Tbsp. all-purpose flour
1 c. milk
1 1/2 c. shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1 1/2 c. shaved cooked turkey (I use mesquite from the deli)
3 dashes Worcestershire sauce
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. ground red pepper
1/2 c. freshly grated Parmesan cheese
6 bacon slices, cooked, crumbled
5 plum or Roma tomatoes, thinly sliced

Arrange bread slices on a lightly greased baking sheet.  Broil 6 inches from heat for 3-4 minutes.

Melt butter in a saucepan over low heat, add flour, and cook, whisking constantly until smooth.  Gradually whisk in milk, cooking over medium heat.  Whisk constantly until mixture is thick and bubbly.  Add cheddar cheese, whisking until cheese melts. Stir in turkey, Worcestershire sauce, salt & red pepper.

Top bread evenly with warm cheese-turkey mixture.  Sprinkle evenly with parmesen cheese and half of bacon.

Bake at 500 degrees for 2  minutes or until cheese is melted.  Top with tomato slices and sprinkle evenly with remaining bacon.

Enjoy!

Note: I think the next time I make this recipe, I am going to dice the tomatoes for the baby hot browns just to make eathing them a little simpler and less messy. 

Thank you to Charlene H., friend of the family, for sharing this recipe.

Leave a Reply

