yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Peanut Butter Rice Crispy Cookies

on March 25, 2011

Peanut Butter Rice Crispy Cookies

Mmmm. Peanut Butter.  I tried, but I don’t have one bad thing I can say about peanut butter.  For some reason, I have been on peanut butter overload this week making peanut butter sandwiches, apples dipped in peanut butter, a heap of pb right off the spoon and now, these Rice Crispy cookies.  Are you a fan of peanut butter???  If so, then you will become addicted to  these cookies.

 My mother first made this recipe from an old church camp cookbook for a family get- together several years ago.  They were gone in no time flat.  No-Bakes and these little cookies are always quick to disappear at our family outings.  Every time our family has a party or meal, these cookies are always there (but not for long).

 Making these cookies does not require a lot of ingredients, or time.  So, if you are in a hurry to make snacks for the kids to eat after the soccer game or you forgot about making something to take to your office party…pull out this recipe and off ya go!

 Ingredients:

1 cup light Karo syrup

1 cup sugar

12 oz. creamy peanut butter

4 cups rice crispy cereal, or corn flakes

In a small saucepan, mix together syrup and sugar.  Bring to a boil.

Once the sugar has dissolved, remove from heat.  Stir in peanut butter.

Stir in the peanut butter until smooth and creamy. 

In a large mixing bowl, pour in rice crispy cereal.  Pour the peanut butter mixture over top of the cereal.  Fold and stir the cereal until it becomes well coated.

On parchment or wax paper, drop cookies while they are still warm.  Yes, you can eat them while they are warm. Very yummy stuff. 

When the cookies are cooled, you may cut parchment paper (with the cookies on top) into squares.  This keeps the cookies from sticking together.  Store in an airtight container.

The next time I make these cookies I think I am going to put them in a pan (like rice crispy treats) and then I will had a thin layer of chocolate ganache icing on top.  After it has time to set, I will cut into squares and serve…kinda like Reese’s peanut butter bars.  I just might make them for Easter to see how the family reacts to the new addition.  If the results are good then I will post pictures along with the recipe.

 Oh, I just had another idea…………these would be awesome with Nutella spread on top, or dipped in a chocolate fondue fountain.  I think there are endless ways to use these cookies. 

 Thank you, Peanut Butter!!!!

Leave a Reply

