yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Grilled Spring Asparagus with Feta Cheese

on April 6, 2011

Asparagus is a dish we just began eating about a year ago as part of our quest to eating healthier.   My kids don’t love it or ever request it, but I know if I keep making it they just might come around.  I am always intrigued to know how people cook asparagus, and the different ingredients or herbs they use when cooking it.  I usually roast asparagus in the oven with balsamic vinegar, but this recipe I found on Pink Parsley’s blog requires grilling, and I love to grill. So, I knew I had to try it.  Plus, the grill adds some extra flavor to the dish.  I did not have a grill pan to use when I made this last night, so I just threw them straight on the grill.  I might have cooked them about 30-60 seconds too long, but all in all, they tasted wonderful!  I am looking forward to a night I can make this again!

Ingredients:

1 bunch asparagus, tough ends trimmed off

1 oz. feta cheese, crumbled

Splash of balsamic vinegar

2 cloves garlic, pressed

Kosher salt

Freshly ground black pepper

Juice from half a lemon

Splash of olive oil

Pinch and a half of red pepper

Zest from half a lemon

3/4 tsp. fresh Rosemary leaves, minced

In a small mixing bowl, whisk together all the ingredients except the Feta cheese. 

On a cookie sheets (with sides) line up the asparagus.  Drizzle 1 T. of the dressing onto the asparagus.  With tongs, toss the spears around to coat. 

Prepare a hot grill.  When ready, place aspargus either on the grill or in a grill pan.  I do not have a grill pan so I opted for straight on the grill.  Grill for 5-7 minutes or until grill marks appear. Remove from grill and drizzle remaining dressing onto the asparagus.  Toss around to coat.  Sprinkle with feta, or goat cheese. 

And Voila’!

Parmesan Mashed Potatoes, Grilled Spring Asparagus with Feta Cheese and Grilled Tilapia with Cajun seasoning

 

Recipe adapted from the Pink Parsley’s blog .

Leave a Reply

