yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Mastering the Art of a Dance Mom

on April 20, 2011

What a weekend!  E & I traveled to Charleston, WV this past weekend for her dance competition.  This was also the first time performing her solo, and I must say I was impressed with the emotion she brought to her routine.  She did bobble in her double pirouette, but all in all, I thought she did a fantastic job!  She ended up scoring a high-gold on her first ever solo!  I was pleased, and she was happy, too.  She thought she was going to walk away with a silver score. 

The adjudicated judging is done at levels: Shooting stars (Beginning competitor), then Shining Stars (more experience in competing), and Super Stars (advance competing status).  Each level can be awarded the following scores: silver, high-silver, gold, high-gold, and platinum, with Platinum score being 2 points from a perfect score.  I am anxious to hear what the judges said about her routine, and what areas need improvement.

E also danced in two other class routines: I Love Lucy and Saturday Night Fever.  All the girls did a great job on each routine!  I Love Lucy received a Platinum score and 1st Overall while Saturday Night Fever also scored Platinum and was 2nd Overall.  I Love Lucy received the highest score of the entire day!!  The studio where E takes dance class was also chosen for the Best Studio award at the competition.

I have danced for a majority of my life in some capacity, whether it was as a student, dancer, instructor or dance mom.  You always experience the butterflies.  And even though I was a bundle of nerves on Friday for E, I had a great time with E on our mother-daughter dance weekend.  Our downtime consisted of hanging out in the hotel room watching music videos on VH1 until time to check out of our room.  Next, we headed to the mall to do some shopping.  We were sure to stop by Justice, one of her favorite stores.  They really did not have too many stores to choose from, but it did provide some things for us to do while we waited until show time.  Before heading over to the auditorium to watch the competition, we grabbed some lunch at The Outback Steakhouse. 

Two weeks from now, we get to go back for Competition #2!  Yep, I am working on mastering the art of being a dance mom…and I love it!

(Pics to be posted soon.)

Leave a Reply

