yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Savory Crescent Chicken Squares

on May 3, 2011

How can I have waited so long to put this recipe on my blog?  Afterall, it is T’s favorite, and he is my favorite person!  I do not make this a lot, or at least not enough for my husband.  I am sure he will shake his head in agreement when he reads this entry.  Right, Honey?

I have been asked many times for this recipe.  I actually found it in a cookbook my Mom gave me years ago as a Christmas gift.  The book is about 3 inches thick and I believe this is the only recipe I have ever cooked from it. 

Ingredients:

3 oz. cream cheese

3 T. butter, melted

2 c. chicken, cubed

¼ tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. pepper

2 T. milk

1 T. chopped chives or onions

1 T. chopped pimento (optional)

2 cans Pillsbury crescent rolls

¾ c. seasond croutons, crushed

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  In a medium bowl, blend cream cheese and 2 T. of butter until smooth.  Add chicken, salt, pepper, milk, chives/onions, and pimentos (if desired); mix well. 

Separate the crescent roll dough into 4 large rectangles; firmly press the perforated edges to seal. 

Spoon ½ cup of the meat mixture onto the center of each rectangle.  Pull 4 corners of dough to top center of meat mixture, twist slightly and seal any edges or openings.

Place on ungreased cookie sheet.  Brush tops with reserved tablespoon of melted butter and sprinkle top with crushed croutons.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 – 25 minutes or until golden brown.  Yields 8 servings or squares. 

Tip: Leave crescent rolls in fridge as long as you can right up until time to roll out the dough.  It will make sealing and handling the dough much easier.

Leave a Reply

