yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Grilled Cajun Chicken Pasta

on June 3, 2011

I have been waiting patiently all through winter to make this dish again.  I like it best in the summer time for some odd reason since it could totally be used as comfort food on a cold, dreary day.  But, my family likes to use those days for Homemade Spaghetti and Meatballs.  I always think of my Dad when I make this recipe.  See, he loves spicy food so every time I make this dish I keep adding more and more kickin’ spice to it; even if I know he isn’t able be there to eat any of it (which is a shame ‘cause I know he would love it).

I printed this recipe from Ree of Pioneer Woman Cooks, one of my favorite recipe blogs!  The way I prepare this recipe is a little different from PW.  She browns her chicken in the skillet in olive oil and butter, but I like to put my chicken on the grill to cut back on using butter.  The last time I made this I used 2 Tbsp. good olive oil and 1 Tbsp. butter and it tasted great!  But, next time I might try 1 Tbsp. of butter and oil each, just to see what I come up with.   I think I can get away with it.

Ingredients:

3 whole boneless, skinless chicken breasts

3 tsp. Luzianne Cajun spices

1 pound fettuccine

2 Tbsp. olive oil

1 Tbsp. butter

Whole green pepper, sliced

Whole red pepper, sliced

½ whole red onion, diced

4 cloves garlic, pressed

4 whole Roma tomatoes, diced

2 c. Low Sodium chicken broth

½ c. white wine

1 c. heavy cream

Cayenne pepper, to taste

Black pepper, to taste

Kosher salt, to taste

Chopped Italian parsley, to taste

Freshly grated Parmesan cheese

 Fire up the grill and get it warm, around 375 – 400 degrees. 

 Wash chicken breasts and pat dry with a paper towel. Spray each side of the chicken with spray olive oil, or you can spread a thin layer of oil on the chicken using a basting or pastry brush.  Next, generously sprinkle each breast with the Luzianne Cajun seasonings on both sides of the chicken breast.

 When the grill is ready, place chicken breasts onto the grill.  You can wait until the chicken is done before you begin the rest of the dish, or you can go back inside (like me) and get started right away.  But don’t forget to check on your chicken, and flip it every 4-5 minutes until done if you are cooking inside and outside. 

 Cook pasta according to package directions.  Drain when pasta is still al dente; please make sure you do not overcook!

 In a large pot, I heat olive oil and butter until well combined.  When heated, throw in the peppers, onions, and garlic.  Add 1 tsp. Cajun spices.  Turn up the heat to high and cook for 1 – 1 ½ minutes while trying to get the veggies as blackened as possible.  Add the tomatoes and cook for an additional 30 seconds.  Next, remove all the veggies from the pan to set aside.

 While the pan is still over high heat, pour in the wine and the chicken broth.  Cook on high for 3-5 minutes.  Scrape around the pan to deglaze and stir in the drippings.  Reduce the heat to medium-low and pour in cream, whisking constantly.  Cook over medium-low heat for a few minutes, until cream begins to thicken in the mixture.  Add freshly ground black pepper, cayenne pepper, and salt to taste.  The sauce should some kick of spice.  I used about a tsp. or so of cayenne pepper. 

 Once the grilled chicken is ready, bring it back in the kitchen and slice in thin slices or in chunks, whichever you prefer.  Finally, add chicken and the veggies to the sauce, making sure to include all those yummy juices from both the chicken and the veggies.  Stir and cook for 2 minutes, until the mixture is bubbly and hot.  Add drained fettuccine and toss to combine.

 Top with chopped fresh Italian parsley and freshly grated Parmesan cheese.

 Yummiliciousness!

Note: Next time I make this not only will I cut out the 1 Tbsp. olive oil, but I will probably also try grilling the veggies too.  I will follow the directions when heating them in the skillet/pot for that one minute, but might have to cut back on the heat a little.

Leave a Reply

