yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Black Magic Cake

on June 7, 2011

I did it…I tried a new chocolate cake recipe.  The cake was moist and delicious and I could probably eat the cake by itself.  The icing on the other hand could use some tweeking, but that is just my opinion.  Perhaps it was too much chocolate.  Did I just say that?  A cake can have too much chocolate?  Well, not according to T.  He loved this cake.  If you are a chocolate lover, then this cake might be for you.  Both cake and icing are all from scratch – no boxes.

The batter for this cake will be thin (because it contains coffee).  I made a similar cake a few months ago which contained coffee.  To be honest I was really scared I ruined my batter by adding the coffee, and I was completely convinced the cake would never rise, but when I took it out of the oven after baking, it looked exactly like a regular cake.  The first time I made a cake with coffee was in a cupcake and this time it was a sheet cake.  One good thing about thin batter…your cake comes out nice and even on top, flat across.  The center does not rise above the ends and sides of the cake. 

Ingredients:

Cake:

1 3/4 cup all purpose flour

2 cups sugar

3/4 cup cocoa powder

2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

2 eggs

1 cup strong black coffee, cooled

1 cup buttermilk

½ c. vegetable oil

1 tsp. real vanilla extract

CHOCOLATE FROSTING

½ c. margarine, softened

2 oz. unsweetened chocolate, cooled

3 cups powdered sugar

3 Tbsp. milk

2 tsp. real vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Combine flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl or stand mixer.
  2. Add eggs, coffee, buttermilk, oil and vanilla.
  3. Beat at medium speed for two minutes.  Batter will be thin.
  4. Pour batter into a greased and floured 9×13 pan or two 9 inch cake pans.
  5. Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes for a 9×13 pan, or 30-35 minutes for layer pans.
  6. Combine frosting ingredients and mix well with a hand or stand mixer.  Spread frosting on cooled cakes.

Source: Just a Pinch.com

Leave a Reply

