yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Sad Cake

on July 5, 2011

Sad Cake

Do not let the name of this cake fool you! It has the name for a reason and it has nothing to do with the taste or flavor of the cake.  Since most cakes are made to rise, this case it purposely made to rise and fall; hence, the name “Sad Cake”. The first time I made this cake, it flopped. I believe I beat the eggs too long, and I did not bake it on the right temperature for my oven. The cake came out dry and it never fell in the center like it was supposed to. The second time I made this cake (within a 24 hour period) it came out perfect, but I did change the way I added ingredients the second time around.

Ingredients:

4 eggs

1 lb. light brown sugar

2 c. Bisquick

1 ½ tsp. vanilla

1 c. chopped pecans

7 oz. flaked coconut

1 c. white chocolate or butterscotch chips (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9×13 pan lightly with cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the eggs and brown sugar together. 

Mix in Bisquick until well blended.

Add pecans, vanilla, coconut and chips.

Pour into pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. The batter will appear thick and sticky.

Cake before baking...

 It will rise high and then it will cave in the center. It may not fall until it is removed from the oven.

Leave a Reply

