yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Grilled Turkey Burgers

on July 6, 2011

Does the sound of a turkey burger leave you feeling less than excited? Well, that used to be the case for me. A yummy hamburger grilled to perfection was more my style. I really had never thought about grilling ground turkey or chicken even though I had used it in other dishes like spaghetti, soups and tacos. There are several blogs I follow and all of them contain posts about turkey burgers. Since I feel somewhat comfortable around the grill, I decided to spread my wings a little and begin trying new meat recipes. First on the list? Yep, turkey burgers.

As I mentioned before, I love to read food blogs, and one I refer to a lot is the Smoky Mountain Café. I used her Turkey Burger recipe below for my first ever experience with ground turkey on the grill. My husband and I were very pleased with the outcome. So tasty! I have used several of her meat dish recipes (especially for fish) and they have never failed me, so be sure and check her out!.

Ingredients:

1 pound lean ground turkey (or ground chicken)

2 small shallots, finely chopped

3 cloves garlic, pressed

2 tsp. McCormick’s Montreal Steak (grill) seasoning

2 Tbsp. goat cheese

1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

Salt and pepper, to taste

4 slices Pepper Jack cheese

4 slices bacon, halved when cooking (to make 8 pcs.)

Kickin’ Sauce

Pam cooking spray

Butter spray

4 whole wheat buns

Directions:

In a large mixing bowl, combine meat, shallots, garlic, grill seasoning, goat cheese, Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper until well combined.  Divide into 4 equal parts. Roll each part and flatten into a patty. Spray each side with olive oil to avoid the meat sticking to the grill.

 Heat the grill to medium-high heat allowing the grill to heat for at least 10 minutes. Place the patties right on the hot grill for 5 minutes. Nice grill marks should appear, and your meat should sizzle when you put it on the grill. If it doesn’t, then your grill is not hot enough. Flip patties to the other side and grill for 5 minutes. Continue until patties are cooked thoroughly.

 When done, place cheese slice on top of each patty, if desired. While the cheese is melting, spray butter onto each bun and place on the grill for 1-3 minutes. It will not take long for the buns to toast. Once they are toasted, remove from grill. When the cheese has melted, turn off grill and cover in order to trap the heat to aid in melting the cheese.  After the cheese has melted, remove from the grill to place on the toasted whole wheat bun.

 To assemble the patty, generously spread with kickin’ sauce and add some bacon. Yummy!

Yields: 4

Source: Smoky Mountain Cafe’

One response to “Grilled Turkey Burgers

  1. […] yogijen Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life HomeAbout MoiBlogroll ← Grilled Turkey Burgers […]

Leave a Reply

