yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Baking Books and Sookie Stackhouse…

on July 15, 2011

We are planning to go on vacation soon, so I went ahead and began looking for some books to check out at the library to entertain me on the drive to the beach. If I read in the car, I get car sick so I had to choose two different kinds of books…I chose “Dead Reckoning” by Charlaine Harris (yes, I am a crazy Trubie fan) as my book of choice to read while sipping a cold drink and digging my toes in the sand on the beach. 

The other books I decided to check out are the traveling ” not much reading books” for the many hours it will take to finally get to the beach. You know something with quick reading and lots of pictures.

Here are the books I chose, along with my top recipe choices I can’t wait to try:

 “Baked: New Frontiers In Bakingby Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito

  • The Baked Brownie, p. 117
  • Chipotle Cheddar Biscuits, p. 35
  • Sweet and Salty Cake, p. 67
  • Vanilla Marshmallows, p. 161

miette:Recipes from San Franciso’s Most Charming Pastry Shopby Meg Ray

  • Hot Milk Cake, p. 26
  • Tomboy Cake, p. 66
  • Fleur de Sel Caramels, p. 167
  • Vanilla Buttercream Icing, p. 185

 “The Complete Magnolia Bakery Cookbook, Recipes from the World-Famous Bakery and Allysa Torey’s Home Kitchen – by Allysa Torey

  • Devil’s Food Cake with Seven Minute Icing, p. 99
  • Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese Icing, p. 72
  • Traditional Vanilla Birthday Cake, p. 97
  • Lemon Buttercream Icing, p.133
  • Chocolate Buttercream Icing, p. 137

I could not help myself, I could not resist opening those pages to look at the recipes. I already have two handwritten pages of cake and icing recipes I want to try. When T reads this I know he will roll his eyes while trying to control a heavy sigh (or bad word). T is always on me for recipes lying around our house, and I honestly can’t blame him. Although he is right about the recipes, my cabinet space is limited so I have to store them in big binders. Well, remember that limited space I was just talking about??  I don’t have much space for big binders either. I remind him I only print the recipes I really like and plan to try one day.

Since I have already scoped out these books and went as far as making a list of recipes to try, I guess it is safe to consider them as books I have read. So, back to the library to find a few more “not much reading” books to look through during the car ride. 

Do you have a baking or cooking book you would like to recommend, or perhaps you have a go to cookbook or an all time favorite book you want to suggest? Feel free to share it in the comment section and I will be sure to take a look! Thanks!

 

Leave a Reply

