yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Fast and Easy Cupcakes in a Jar

on August 10, 2011

So my son has been on me to make Red Velvet cupcakes. Have you ever made a homemade Red Velvet cake before? From scratch? Well, then you will know it can be time consuming (especially the homemade icing). I will be sure and post the Homemade RV cake recipe I use, but I probably won’t do that till around Thanksgiving.  And yes, I do agree making a homemade RV cake is worth it, but when you don’t have a lot of time to prep and prepare, one must revert to the boxed cake. Plus, doing a boxed cake allows the kids to help me…after all, it is hard to mess up a boxed cake, right?

Actually my son picked the RV box mix up as his “snack of the week” when we were at the store the other day. It was definitely his snack since he ate most of the cupcakes. He wore the evidence on his face, hands, and shirt. Every time I saw him he had a new red stain. I finally had to ask him how many cupcakes had he eaten?  He replies with, “Four.”. Four cupcakes?  So, I jumped into mom mode and had to declare no more cupcakes for him for the rest of the day.

I made these this past weekend (it was also my birthday) since they are new internet fads of the cupcake world. I found the idea on Pinterest and the idea is really cute, and so, so simple. I bought some small jelly jars with lids and decided to try them. Boy, they were so easy!

Here is what you will need:

  • 24 cupcakes of your choice in flavor
  • 16 jars
  • 2 containers of icing (of your choice)
  • Pastry piping bag, or Ziploc bag with corner cut
  • Large pastry tips, or cake decorating tips
  • Sprinkles, or candies of your choice
  • Decorating materials of your choice

Directions:

  1. To make the cupcakes, follow the directions on the back of the box. Use whatever flavor you like. Bake as directed. Cool.
  2. While the cupcakes are cooling, transfer icing from the container to the piping bag with the decorating tip of choice. I recommend using an icing/piping bag simply because they are easier to use and inexpensive.
  3. Half the cupcakes (horizontally).
  4. In a clean jar place the bottom of the halved cupcake into the bottom of the jar.
  5. Pipe icing overtop of the cake.
  6. Place the other half of the cupcake on top of the piped icing. Repeat piping.
  7. Repeat with another layer (half cupcake and icing).
  8. Sprinkle with any candies or decorations of your choice.
  9. Seal the cupcake in a jar with the accompanying lid.
  10. Decorate the outside with ribbon, spoon, handmade label, or whatever materials you like.
  11. Give them away to a family member, friend, church member, co-worker, coach, teammates, teacher on the first day of school, or whomever you like. 

Have fun!!

Source: My Cakies blog

If you look close enough you can see the red velvet cake between his teeth, and he has nice rosey lips, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

