yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Red Chili

on October 14, 2011

Around our house, chili is color coded. Yep. When my daughter says she wants chili she is referring to RED chili. But, when my husband says he wants chili, he refers to WHITE chili. Me personally? I prefer red chili. Dont get me wrong, I love white chili, too, and my family loves when I make white chili. But for me, a hearty, beefy soup on a cold day is perfect! Dont worry, I will post the white chili recipe later. This is my mother-in-law’s recipe, and I do think the flavor is hard to beat. Sorry, Mom and Dad.

This chili is great to eat on a cold, rainy day, or even after a cold morning waiting in a deer stand.  This recipe will “heat” you up. I want to give a shout out to my older brother, Chris, for giving me some homegrown red chili peppers this summer. He told me to put them in a ziploc bag whole and place in the freezer. When I cook soups like chili, I am to pull out one of the frozen peppers, cut off the top stem and de-seed the pepper. Then, I throw the entire pepper into the chili and cook. IF I want alot of heat in the chili, he assures me leaving the seeds in the pepper will take care of the heat I am looking for.

Thanks, Chris and Kim! The chili peppers are just what my soups needed!

Ingredients:

2 pounds hamburger

1 onion, chopped

2 cups water

1 can red kidney beans, or beans of choice

1 can tomatoes, diced

1 – 8 oz. carton Bloemer’s chili concarne

2 oz. spaghetti, or pasta of choice

1 can tomato sauce

1/2 bottle chili powder

crushed red pepper, to taste

1 small red chili pepper, cored

salt & pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. In a large pot, brown hamburger and onions. When cooked through, drain grease from the beef. Once drained, return meat and onions back to the large pot.

2. In the microwave, heat the Bloemer’s chili concarne for 1 minute. Pour onto the beef. If the concarne is not softened, heat in 10 second intervals until softened or liquified.

3.  Add water, diced tomatoes, beans, tomato sauce, salt, pepper, red chili pepper, and chili powder to the large pot.

4. Bring to a boil.

5. Reduce heat and  simmer 20 minutes. Add in the cooked spaghetti, or pasta of choice.

6. When ready to eat, add oyster crackers, cheese, peanut butter, or bologna sandwich!

Leave a Reply

