yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Turkey (not Georgia) on my mind…

on November 3, 2011

Southern Deep Fried Turkey

Waking up with turkey on your mind and realizing it is only November 3rd makes for a very long couple of weeks. Only 21 more days until Thanksgiving. I LOVE this holiday! I start my cooking the night before Thanksgiving as soon as I get home from work. What is the first thing I cook? Red Velvet Cake. I dedicate Wednesday night to baking only. I also prepare the homemade frosting (cooked on top of the stove) and then place it in the fridge until morning when I am ready to ice the cake. Thursday morning, I prepare my broccoli casserole, pasta salad (just for Granny) and anything else I might have time to cook. While I am cooking, T and the kids are watching Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.

Around noon we head over to my grandmother’s house for Thanksgiving dinner. My brother, Chris, is the best at deep-frying the turkeys. Yep, that is what I said…deep-fried turkey!! It is a real southern treat. I have relatives traveling in from New Jersey and North Carolina that I know will fall in love with Chris’ fried turkeys. I am looking forward to spending time with the relatives and eating Chris’ delicious turkey.

We spend the entire day at my grandmother’s house eating, watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, NFL football, eating again, looking through all the Black Friday ads from the newspaper in order to plan our Black Friday shopping trips, playing 6-man Rook, eating yet again, and vising with family memebers. I look forward to this holiday because I love being with my family for the entire day…we can stay inside, take off our shoes, eat all day, laugh, play cards and just have a great time together.  My kids enjoy this day with their cousins the way I enjoyed it as a kid. Makes me smile.

Granny’s Thanksgiving Day Menu:

2 Deep Fried Turkey Birds

Mashed Potatoes

Green Beans

Glazed Carrots

Fresh Corn

Sweet Potatoes

Broccoli Casserole

Mom’s Dumplings

Old-Fashioned Stuffing

Noodles

Pasta Salad

Deviled Eggs

Vegetable and Fruit Tray with Dip

Granny Rolls (just your regular Brown ‘n Serve rolls – my cousins from NJ named them)

Desserts:

Red Velvet Cake

Pumpkin Pie

Southern Pecan Pie

Snicker’s Cheesecake

Rice Krispy Cookies

If you are preparing your first Thanksgiving meal for your family, you might want to check out some of these helpful blogs/websites:

* Annie’s Eats cooking blog

* Pottery Barn Party Planner

* Williams-Sonoma

Now I have really done it, turkey isn’t the only thing on my mind…Granny’s stuffing covered in noodles, Kim’s carrots, Mom’s dumplings and so on. Mmmmm….the countdown is on…21 more days. Happy Turkey Day, Y’All!

Leave a Reply

