yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Swiss Steak

on November 4, 2011

Swiss Steak

This Swiss Steak recipe is going into our family’s meal rotation – most definitely! I made this last night because I was plum out of ideas (and tired) of ways to cook chicken, so I picked up some cube steak at the grocery. My boss had been talking about making some Swiss steak this week and I decided I wanted to try it myself. She used to work as a waitress for years and is a fantastic cook herself, so when she talks about recipes and food, I listen! She has helped me alot!

We also like to make old-fashioned turkey dressing together every year at Christmas. We make up a big batch and split it. My boss even showed me this summer how to put up fresh corn to freeze for the winter (you can see it in the picture). Like I said before, she really has taught me alot about cooking and food, and I will always be grateful for her wealth of experience and information she graciously passes to me.

I can’t help thinking about Dad on this meal, too. Boy, would my dad love this recipe…I can’t wait to e-mail him this morning and tell him I am going to make it for him soon. No doubt he will enjoy this dish.

Ya know, when I think about this recipe and whether or not it is healthy, I can’t imagine it being extremely or astronomically high in calories…the ingredients used for the gravy as it cooks (or steams) is water and diced tomatoes.

Ingredients:

4 -6 pcs. cube steak, tenderized

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

2 Tbsp. vegetable oil

Salt

Pepper

1/2 cup water

1 16 oz. can diced or stewed tomatoes

3 carrots, peeled and sliced

1 large onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced or pressed

Worstershire sauce

Hot sauce

Directions:

1. In a large skillet, heat oil.

2. While oil is heating, place flour in a flat dish with edges. Flour both sides of every cube steak pressing the flour into the steak. Salt and pepper the steaks to taste. When oil is ready, brown steaks on each side. Repeat until all the steaks are breaded and browned in oil. Set steaks aside and drain on paper towels.

3. Drain off the oil from the skillet without discarding the drippings. Place steaks back into the skillet. Add water and tomatoes. Cover, reduce heat and simmer for 1 hour. I used an electic skillet and cooked it on 225 degrees. Be sure and scrape underneath the steaks a couple of times so they do not stick to the bottom of the skillet.  

4. Meanwhile while steaks are cooking, dice onions, press garlic and slice carrots. Put them all in a bowl together and set aside.

5. Shake 2 shots of Worcestershire sauce on each steak and add a few drops of hot sauce to the skillet. You know how hot you take things, so if you prefer more heat than feel free to add as many drops as you like!

5. After the meat has cooked for an hour, pour onions, garlic and carrots over top of the steak. Spread them out over all the steaks. Cover and cook for 30 minutes, or until meat and veggies are tender.

Serve over mashed potatoes or rice. I prefer mashed potatoes. 🙂 Now, there just might be some astronomical calories in the mashed potatoes!

Note: You can also add green and/or red peppers, celery, peas, lima beans, corn, whatever veggies or beans you like to doctor up your swiss steak. If you just stick with this recipe, you can’t go wrong either. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

