yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Holiday Classic Red Velvet Cake

on December 6, 2011

When you marry someone, you marry their family too. That is something my mother has always told me. She is right. I had no idea when I married my husband, I would be marrying into a Red Velvet Cake crazed family. I am the lucky one you see. I love hearing the story about T’s grandmother making Red Velvet Cake for their family’s Christmas dinner and Grandmother accidentally using glitter on the cake instead of the colored sugar crystals. Yes, I think they all ate the cake with the glitter. I told you they were a Red Velvet crazed family. This cake is a staple at all of my husband’s family get-togethers.

I began making this cake several years ago to take to my Granny’s house on Thanksgiving Day. Every year it is gone. Another one of those recipes where if you make it well one year you are stuck with making it the rest of your life. Coming from the Red Velvet family, my husband doesn’t mind. Even our kids love Red Velvet cake, and my son requests it quite often.

When I make this cake, I like to make it on a day I know I have plenty of time to prepare and focus, usually the night before Thanksgiving. After all I want to impress my husband, right? I mean he does come from a family with aunts and a mom that can cook a pretty heavy Red Velvet cake.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 1/2 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tablespoons cocoa
  • 2 (1-oz.) red food coloring
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 1/2 cups of sifted cake flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 Tablespoon vinegar

1. In a large mixing bowl, cream shortening, sugar and vanilla. Add 1 egg at a time and beat separate with sugar mixure.

2. In a small bowl or prep cup, make a paste of food coloring and cocoa. Add to the sugar mixture.

3. In a large bowl (separate from sugar mixture), sift flour and salt.

4. Alternate buttermilk and flour to the sugar mixture, beginning with flour and ending with the flour.

5. In a small bowl or prep cup, combine soda and vinegar. After fizzing, add to the cake mixture.

6. Pour batter into two 8-inch gcake pans, greased and floured.

7. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes.

Icing:

  • 7 Tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk (skim works fine)
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups butter / margarine
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla1.

1. In a sauce pan, cook milk and flour until thick (like play dough). Use a wire whisk to help prevent lumps. Let cool.

2. Cream sugar, butter and vanilla until fluffy. Add milk/flour mixture to butter when completely cool.

3. Split cake layers in half longways or horizontally making 4 cake layers.

4. Spread icing between layers and on the top cake but do not ice the sides.

Source: Pam W., friend of the family, SSBC Relay for Life Cookbook (Purple Edition)

Leave a Reply

