yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Homemade Southern Molasses with Biscuits

on January 19, 2012

When I think of homemade molasses, I can not help but think of my Granny D. She made this for us for breakfast whenever we stayed over at her house. Looking forward to molasses on a cold morning by the fire felt like home to me. Isn’t it amazing how something like molasses can make life simple and satisfied? I like to make these for my kids, but really dont make it as often as I should. Perhaps this winter I can change that by putting this recipe into our weekend breakfast rotation.

Now my sister-in-law, Kim, still makes it for her kids. I am so grateful to know she is passing on this wonderful, simple, southern tradition in country cooking!

 

 

Ingredients:

1/2 c. white sugar

1 c. light brown sugar (1/2 cup packed, 1/2 cup loose)

1/2 c. water

Directions:

1. In a small sauce pan, mix together sugars and water over high heat. Whisk constantly until boiling. Boil for 4-5 minutes.

2. Remove from heat and let rest for 3-5 minutes.

3. Pour over warm biscuit (with or without butter). Unless you do it the Granny D. way…you simply tear up the hot biscuit into bite-sized pieces and pour molasses overtop. She did this for me even as an adult. 🙂 I love and miss that great lady!

Mmmmm…delicious!

Source: Granny D. and SIL, Kim

Leave a Reply

