yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Chewy Oatmeal Pecan Cookies

on February 3, 2012

Chewy Oatmeal Pecan Cookies

One of my dad’s favorite cookies are these chewy oatmeal (pecan) cookies. Every time I make these, I always think they would be divine with mini white chocolate chips (do they even make those?). I go to look in the cabinet where I store all my baking good, and no white chocolate chips. No worries though, these cookies are still delicious without the chocolate. Did I really just say that?

I enjoy eating these right out of the oven with a big glass of cold, organic milk. Yum Yum! My favorite part of this cookie is I love how the center stays chewy and the outside edge of the crust browns. Mmmm…

I try to talk myself into the notion these cookies are more healthy than baking up a homemade chocolate chip cookie or a cake simply because they contain three cups of oatmeal. My husband doesn’t buy into that notion as easily as I do.

If you are looking for a quick and easy, yet very yummy cookie, give these cookies a try. They will not disappoint. I don’t usually add raisins to the cookies, but if I did I know they would still be eaten all the same. In the future I am going to try raisins and white chocolate chips.

Ingredients:

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

1 cup firmly backed brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated white sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt (optional)

3 cups Quaker Oats (I use Quick oats)

1/2 cup chopped pecans

1 cup raisins

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Beat together butter and sugars until creamy.

3. Add in the eggs and vanilla; beat well.

4. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well. (Note: I acutally sifted these ingredients together before adding them into the butter-sugar mixture.)

5. Stir in the oats, pecans and raisins. Mix until well combined.

6. Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. (Note: I like to use Pampered Chef’s scoop to make a larger sized cookie. )

7. Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. (Note: Since a increased the cookie side I also had to increase the bake time. I baked the cookies for 16 -18 minutes.)

8. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheet before transferring to a wire rack.

Source: Quaker Oats

Leave a Reply

