yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Jen’s Everyday Side Salad

on March 21, 2012

Steamed broccoli is usually my #1 “go to” greens I serve with dinner. It can be challenging sometimes to rotate green veggies in our dinner every night, but I want my kids to enjoy eating healthy whenever possible. I serve steamed broccoli alot for dinner with chicken, fish, and rice. However, I don’t want to overkill serving broccoli either, so I try to mix up the options a little.

I rotate the following veggies: broccoli, asparagus, green beans and this salad. I call it my “Everyday Salad” because it has become a staple around our house. My husband loves it, as do the kids. So that is a win, win for me. In the evening, I cut up a big bowl of this salad and then my husband and I eat on it for lunch and sometimes dinner the following night if we have some left over.

The dressing I use on this salad is Ranch. I make the dressing myself, and we have come to only eat this dressing on our salads at home. No more bottled dressing for us. Freshness from the dressing to the salad ingredients…you can never go wrong with this combination.

For a main course meal, just add a piece of grilled chicken, steak or fish.

Ingredients:

2 Romaine hearts, chopped

1/2 head of iceberg lettuce, chopped

1 large tomato (or 2 small), diced

1/2 large cucumber, diced

3 eggs, boiled and coursely chopped

1/4 red onion, finely chopped

1/2 cup carrots, shredded

Bacon pieces

Potato sticks

Parmesan cheese, freshly grated

Ranch dressing, or dressing of your choice

Directions:

1. In a large serving bowl, throw in chopped greens/lettuce. Toss around to mix. I like to tear my lettuces using my hands, it helps the greens last longer.

2. Add in tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots, red onions, and eggs. Toss around the mix with the greens.

3. Serve in individual bowls. Top with Bacon pieces, potato sticks and Ranch dressing, or dressing of your choice.

Source: yogijen

Note: You can serve with any other veggies or toppings you like. The possibilities are endless. This pic does not have the potato sticks, bacon pieces or Parmesan cheese…I got a little too excited before I had it all finished.)

Leave a Reply

