yogijen

Blog about my thoughts, feelings, interests and my life

Jen’s Kid-Friendly Homemade Mac ‘N Cheese

on March 27, 2012

Homemade Mac ‘N Cheese is one of my kids’ favorite side dishes. My mother is very well-known at family get-togethers for her macaroni and cheese. When my kids were younger, I use to only fix the Kraft Mac ‘N Cheese for them. But now that they are older and simply because they have eaten my mothers so many times, I now have to make this recipe. Once again, simple ingredients – nothing fancy and it still tastes yummy!

Ingredients:

1/2 box macaroni pasta

1/2 stick butter

1/4 cup milk, heavy cream or half and half (your choice, any will do)

1/3 block Velveta cheese (big block)

Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. In a large sauce pan, bring about 6-8 cups of water to a boil. Sprinkle salt into the water.

2. Once the water has begun to boil, drop in the pasta. Cook as directed on the box, probably around 9-10 minutes until al dente. Strain water from the pasta.

3. Drop pasta back into the warm sauce pan and add butter, milk, Velveta cheese, salt and paper. Stir.

4. Stir several times until the butter and cheese have melted covering the pasta. Serve when everything is well combined.

Note: If you like your mac n cheese more on the cheesy side, add extra Velveta. I like mine more on a creamier side, so I try not to add too much extra cheese (if my kids let me by with it). I like to use only Velveta cheese…you can never go wrong with Velveta!

Source: Mom

Leave a Reply

